Spiritual Shopping Comes to Halt

I was born and brought up in Hindu family and my bed time stories were the about Our Hindu Deities primarily Lord Rama or Krishna. They were like my refuge and I wondered what was like being so immensely self sacrificing? I went to Convent school and there I was introduced to Lord Jesus, my inquisition had no bounds and started searching more and more about Christianity and soon I was introduced to Sikhism, as most of my friends were Sikh. My faith kept on changing from our countless deities, their fables and moral values behind them to deities of different religion. I couldn’t ever come to a conclusion which one exactly I liked or followed. I was a shopaholic that was sure, but spiritual shopaholic.

I was a blend of all the concepts that I had learned till the age twenty and was sure, I don’t like idol worship and my tolerance with dogmatic superstitions was taking its last breath. I read various holy books, philosophy and spiritual books but I could not really connect with any, may be because it all concluded with living in present and being satisfied with whatever you have. I always questioned what if I want more? Why am I stuck with present, what if I want to plan my future? Thankfully I was never a past person, it was impossible for me to see life rhetorically. Anyways my struggle with these concepts of being satisfied with whatever made me search more and more. As they say, when the disciple is ready the teacher finds him. So was my case. I received a call from my friend about the YES!+ workshop by The Art of Living which he promised would mark a change in me.I  went on to do my first Yes Plus course and there was no turning back. After that, more deep I went more clarity I got. My spiritual shopping came to a halt. Sri Sri believes in moving on and not getting stuck and that’s what I wanted to hear .I often used to question on the futility of rituals and he answered in his velvety yet humorous tone,” Ah! It’s all about making the atmosphere, setting the mood for Meditation.” Sri Sri always says,” There is no end to wishes and desires, you climb one mountain yet there is another mountain; you cross one threshold, you will find another threshold calling you. That’s how a human is always running not settling down. But you know it’s good to sit for a while and enjoy the acquisition.” Now that made sense to me, very subtly he explained the value and completeness of present moment. The present moment which is complete and cherishing in itself but it becomes more memorable and worthy when you persevere.

Setting a Goal and aspiring for it was one thing but setting a goal and getting feverish was another. It’s not the goal which doesn’t let you sleep but the feverishness and uncertainty of the future that makes a person’s life a living hell and drags the person away from its present moment. These little yet enlightening words of wisdom finally made me settle. It’s true a person never settle’s, it’s the mind of the person that settle’s. There is no such place called past, present or future but every moment in it wholeness is present with the possibility of future with the experience of past. Still I can’t say I am a Hindu,a Sikh or a Christian but one thing I can definitely say that I am spiritual. I don’t have to make a never ending list of books to be learned but just set the mood and slip into meditation which will take me to the realms beyond past, present or future and definitely much beyond religion. I am still not self sacrificing but I understood the depth of one random act of kindness that not only stretches the curve of your lips but also strengthen others faith in humanity.

Ekta Madaan (Facebook | Twitter)

One thought on “Spiritual Shopping Comes to Halt

  1. lovedhawan March 10, 2015 / 12:42 am

    I ,completely agree with the writing and experience . All of us are sailing in the same boat . It’s just that some of us can cross that Deliama and some remain stuck over . We all do ,at some point in life need a direction to explore the self.All that makes the difference is from where we get it .
    Mentioning about the goals and ambitions , I always look upon to the ocean, who sometime seems still and self satisfied where as other times it is reckless for the desire .All , I can say is that the writing correlates to the life of every second person …

    Like

Leave a Reply

